Policy Architecture of the Uyghur Genocide

Policy Architecture of the Uyghur Genocide

Executive Summary

Most Uyghurs live in a region officially called Xinjiang Uyghur Autonomous Region, which is referred to as East Turkestan by Uyghurs and other Turkic people. The Uyghur region has been subjected to China’s most oppressive policies, which have escalated dramatically since 2016, into genocide and crimes against humanity. The policies that perpetuate the genocide include, but are not limited to, arbitrary mass detention and imprisonment, forced labor, forced sterilization, family separation, cultural assimilation, deliberate cultural destruction, and transnational repression against Uyghurs and other Turkic groups abroad. The repression in the Uyghur region has transformed into a sophisticated set of policies aiming to eradicate the identity, culture, religious beliefs, and heritage of the people living in the region.

Read the full brief.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.